(July 16, 2014) – As Counting Crows gear up for the release of their highly-anticipated seventh studio album, Somewhere Under Wonderland, the band will be revealing live chalk drawings of album artwork by 3D chalk artist Chris Carlson throughout US Cities. Due for release September 2 on Capitol Records, each song on Somewhere Under Wonderland corresponds to original artwork by artist Felipe Molina. Counting Crows have enlisted Chris Carlson to re-create the artwork with 3D chalk drawings in secret locations, with the band cluing fans into the art’s site with social media tip-offs.

Palisades Park

Palisades Park

The artwork for “Palisades Park,” the first song released off Somewhere Under Wonderland was revealed on July 9 in Denver, CO while Carlson rendered a live 3D chalk drawing in front of Twist and Shout Records. For each city’s artwork reveal, fans will participate in a digital scavenger hunt by finding visual clues on Counting Crows and Capitol’s social media platforms. Video footage of the drawing process and audio clips of the track will be released on Counting Crow’s social networks following each artwork reveal.

Felipe Molina has worked with Counting Crows before, providing the cover art for their 2003 live album, New Amsterdam: Live at Heineken Music Hall. This time around, each song on Somewhere Under Wonderland has an individual painting inspired by the lyrics and music. Molina explains, “I have always thought of my paintings as “picture poems,” but Somewhere Under Wonderland is the first time that I have made paintings specifically for Counting Crows’ songs. Each song elicited a visual response from me that was immediate and sure. I was also motivated by the constant communication with Adam as we saw his remarkable record come to life in a visual way.”

The first song on the album “Palisades Park” is available now on iTunes with the purchase of the full album. The short film of “Palisades Park,” directed by Bill Fishman, is also available now and can be seen here. Fans can order limited-edition versions of the album with an art book or art portfolio directly from the band at and at Amazon.

Known for creating unique and innovative concerts and consistently ranked as one of the top live bands performing today, Counting Crows are in the midst of the North American leg of their major worldwide tour which will continue through major markets, including their hometown of Berkeley, CA, before concluding in Los Angeles at the historic Greek Theatre on August 17. The European leg of the tour begins November 1 in Birmingham, UK.

Somewhere Under Wonderland Track Listing

1.      Palisades Park
2.      Earthquake Driver
3.      Dislocation
4.      God Of Ocean Tides
5.      Scarecrow
6.      Elvis Went To Hollywood
7.      Cover Up The Sun
8.      John Appleseed’s Lament
9.      Possibility Days